NCDS Data Carpentry Workshop

Registration is not yet open

Registration opens May 1, 2023.

We are excited to offer a Data Carpentry workshop on July 24 and 25, 2023 for our NNLM Members in order to learn about steps and tools for quality, efficiency, and reproducibility in research.

The workshop runs for a full two days (14 hours total and qualifies as an elective for Level 1 DSS):

  • 7:30-2:30PT
  • 8:30:3:30MT
  • 9:30-4:30CT
  • 10:30-5:30ET

Please be mindful about registering. Register if you are committed to attending and actively participating since space is limited. 

This Data Carpentry workshop will include the following lessons:

  1. Data Organization in Spreadsheets
  2. OpenRefine for Data Cleaning
  3. Data Analysis and Visualization in R

The target audience is as follows: learners who have little to no prior computational experience, and the instructors put a priority on creating a friendly environment to empower learners and enable data-driven discovery. Even those with some experience will benefit, as the goal is to teach not only how to do analyses, but how to manage the process to make it as automated and reproducible as possible.

Participants must use a laptop with a Windows, Mac, or Linux operating system (not a tablet, Chromebook, etc.) that they have administrative privileges on. 

Software must be installed prior to the first day of the workshop.

Objectives:

By registering for this class, you are agreeing to the NNLM Code of Conduct.

Class Details

Date(s): July 24, 2023 - July 25, 2023
Platform: Zoom
CE Credits: 14.00
CE Categories: DSS Level 1
Class Experience Level: Beginner
This class is sponsored by NCDS.
Learn more about this class and find other upcoming instances:

Registration is not yet open

Class Contacts

Instructor:
Technical Assistance: