NNLM Book Discussion, Aug 14 - Oct 31: The Invisible Kingdom: Reimagining Chronic Illness by Meghan O'Rourke

You are invited to join us for the NNLM Book Discussion. From August 14 through October 31, we will read The Invisible Kingdom: Reimagining Chronic Illness by Meghan O'Rourke. 

After acquiring the book in your preferred format, you can join us any time between August 14 until Oct 31 to participate. 

Live Discussion

  • Tuesday September 26th, 9 am PT, 10 am MT, 11 am CT, 12 ET. 
  • Wednesday October 25th, 12 pm PT, 1 pm MT, 2 pm CT, 3 pm ET

NNLM Book Discussion offers librarians and library staff interested in better understanding health issues faced by people in the communities that they serve an opportunity to explore topics with other professionals and earn Continuing Education Credit.

Participants can complete the book and earn CE credit on their schedule. A new book is selected each quarter. Participants can acquire the book in their performed format and have three months to complete the requirements.

Requirements to earn CE.

  1. Complete the book in your preferred format
  2. Log into the Moodle
  3. Explore the related resources
  4. Do ONE of the following
    1. Answer the required discussion question in Moodle
    2. Attend one of the two live discussion sessions and participate. 

It is not necessary to engage in Moodle discussions for all three months, although you are welcome to do so.

Objectives:
  • To increase library staff awareness and understanding of health issues faced by individuals and communities
  • Explore health resources from NLM, NIH, and other organizations related to the topic

Code of Conduct NNLM is dedicated to providing a welcoming and supportive environment for all people, regardless of background or identity. As such, we expect respectful interactions with instructors and learners. Read the full Code of Conduct here.

Class Details

Date(s): August 14, 2023 - October 31, 2023
Platform: Zoom, Moodle
CE Credits: 4.00
CE Categories: CHIS Level 1
Class Experience Level: Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
This class is sponsored by Region 6.
Learn more about this class and find other upcoming instances:

Class Contacts

Technical Assistance: Molly Knapp